Presented by: Gloria María Abarca and Marisol Suárez Sierra

This was a very different seminar.  We practiced breathing and focused on relaxing.  At first I thought that it was going to be a waste of time, but I was pleasantly surprised.  It was very interesting and beneficial, I believe, for all of the students in the Peace Master who are working hard and feeling a lot of stress.  This was the first time I have ever heard of holistic peace…  It seems important and I would like to learn more about it.  During the seminar we practiced different types of exercises.  It reminded me of yoga.  People are always telling me that I need to do yoga because I am always stressed out.  Perhaps they are right…  Learning about holistic peace reminded me that I must also focus on peace in my own life.  I am continually seeking to promote and work for peace outside of myself, but I realized that I am constantly conflicted with ideas, emotions, and various things that contribute to a stressful lifestyle.

I agree that we should strive to find personal peace.  However, I do not agree that it is necessary to find personal peace to be able to work for peace outside of ourselves.  There are many honorable people in the world that failed to attain personal peace, but contributed greatly to peace in the world.  In other words, some people work better for peace when they are living at high altitudes and plagued by stress and anxiety.  I do not feel peace when I see suffering and poverty.  I do not feel peace when I see the country where I am from waging war.  I feel anger and anxiety, which motivates me to work for peace.  In a strange way, anxiety can drive us to achieve impossible goals.  Yet, it can also kill us…  Therefore, although I believe that personal peace is desirable, I do not believe it is necessary to live a life working for peace in the world.

Here is an interesting video:

